For the fourth time since 1977, the loser of the American League Championship Series represented the American League in Superteams as New York Yankees owner George Steinbrenner had prohibited Yankees from participating in Superstars competitions since a 7-0 loss to the Cincinnati Reds in the 1977 Superteams. I have limited information on the event, I know that the Oakland Athletics won over the Los Angeles Dodgers, 5-2 from the total amount of money won by Oakland players following the finals. I have been able to determine the identities of seven of then ten Los Angeles Dodgers. The Dodgers had won the first Superteams in 1975, beating the Athletics in the preliminaries. Seven years later, five of the Dodgers from 1975 were on the 1982 squad (Cey, Garvey, Lopes, Russell and Yeager). During the competition, Dodger secondbaseman Davey Lopes learned that he was being traded to Oakland.

Honolulu, Hawaii

Competition Dates: c. February 1, 1982.

Air Date: March 7, 1982.

Commentators: N/A.

1. OAKLAND ATHLETICS (5) - $6,400
2. LOS ANGELES DODGERS (2) - $3,800
Rick Bosetti Ron Cey
Wayne Gross Steve Garvey
Rickey Henderson Jay Johnstone
Steve McCatty Davey Lopes
Dave McKay Rick Monday
Dwayne Murphy Bill Russell
Jeff Newman Steve Yeager
Mike Norris N/A
Jim Spencer N/A

Fred Stanley



Not Available

e = estimated time

r = Superstars record

N/A = result not available

dnf - did not finish

nm - no mark